Slant Retrospective: Josh Kim

At Slant 7, we screened Josh Kim’s The Police Box, which remains one of our favorite works. A charming film about romantic crushes — with an upbeat soundtrack that makes us happy every time we hear it — this story of a curious boy, a curious girl, and one policeman unfolds quickly in less than 4 minutes. Josh, who grew up in  Orange, Texas, made the film in March 2006 after dropping out of film school in Hong Kong. Watch it below. (The YouTube clip below plays the film twice. The second version of the film includes annotations showing the cost of props, rentals and other items that go into making a film. Josh made the film for a little over $5,000.)

Here’s an interview with Josh about The Police Box at the Center for Asian American Media.

Last year, at Slant 9, we screened a new short by Josh, The Postcard, another tale of romantic intrigue, but this time set in South Korea with love letters and missed connections. See the trailer here.

We caught up with Josh to see what he’s been working on.

You’re one of just a handful of Slant filmmakers who are actually from Texas. What was it like growing up in Texas?
Growing up in Texas was very idyllic. I remember building forts, swimming every day in the summer, slumber parties and getting speeding tickets. There was a lot of land and it was a great time to explore, imagine and relax. Although I sometimes wonder how my life would be different had I grown up in LA or Seoul.

Do you miss Texas ever?
I miss a lot of things in Texas. I miss driving west when the sun is setting. I miss BBQ and Mexican food and snow cones. I miss campfires and empty parking lots. I miss carpet. I miss my childhood friends and my family, of course. There’s a lot of things I miss.

What are you working on now?
I’m currently helping to produce the Korean remake of John Woo’s 1987 film, A Better Tomorrow. It’s a project I’ve been working on since 2006. I’ve also been working with writer Rattawut Lapcharoensap, author of Sightseeing, on adapting some of his short stories into a film. I plan to move to Thailand later this fall to start on this project.

Leave a Reply

